Weekly Photo Challenge – Vivid – Fireworks (12 Photos) – Photography

by

100_2800-001I was surprised in sampling the vivid entries for this week’s challenge that there weren’t many entries for fireworks.  Many flowers, but few fireworks.  So to help right the world, here are 12 photos from the original light painting application (there’s an app for everything, even if it goes back to the 7th century), fireworks.

For other vivid things, click here.

 100_2800-001

100_2827

100_2785-001

100_2826

100_2783

100_2777

100_2762

100_2769

100_2804

100_2782

100_2799

100_2830

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Vivid – Fireworks (12 Photos) – Photography”

  1. heavenhappens Says:

    Superb photos! I’ve never mastered the art of capturing night time shots, moving images or fireworks! I guess I am just a useless photographer

    Like

    • steveo Says:

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I’ll send another reply next with some suggestions how to do this. It’s not hard. I hope the suggestions are not too confusing. I’ll assume you have a fairly recent digital camera. The camera I used for those is about 9 years old now.

      Like

      • heavenhappens Says:

        I bought a good Panasonic for my daughters wedding 10 years ago and it has been well used but after dropping it a few times it is rather the worse for wear. I’m debating whether to get a Nikon or a canon as both have great features but I’d like to see them both before I choose. The feel of the camera in the hand is so individual! Thanks for your comment.

        Like

      • steveo Says:

        Good luck on the new camera. Your old Panasonic is the same era as my old camera. It should work fine for fireworks. Steveo

        Liked by 1 person

    • steveo Says:

      If you’d like to give it another try, it’s not very hard. You can practice on cars passing by at night to get light trails. It’s the same principle. I’m pretty sure I was just using the fireworks scene mode of my camera. Your camera probably has a fireworks scene mode also. Set your camera for that and give it a try. Then you won’t need to worry about any of the technical stuff below. For my camera the fireworks mode was a 2 second exposure at f/5.6 (about 2 stops from wide open). You’ll need a stable platform. I was using the roof of my car that year. A table or chair will also do. Something to prop up the front of the camera so it points towards the sky – a small folded towel for example. A tripod is ideal if you have one. The hardest part is finding the right place to point the camera and anticipating when the firework will go off. The LCD screen on your camera can help you find the right place. Looking for the rocket trail or mortar explosion going up will help you anticipate when the firework will go off and when to trip the shutter just before. If the fireworks scene mode doesn’t control the focus (it probably will), focus on a distant object manually or set to infinity or near infinity. If you have a zoom lens, the zoom setting will vary depending on how far away you are from the fireworks. I was pretty close, so not a big zoom. The ISO setting was 80. No need for a high ISO. But the fireworks scene mode will probably set this also. It will take some practice but you’ll get the hang of it. Look at each picture as you take them and make adjustments as needed until you get everything set up correctly and then just click away. A lot of the shots won’t be very good, but that’s what the delete button is for. But enough of them should be keepers to make it fun. The camera will take an extra long time to process the image – maybe 5+ seconds depending on the camera. Be patient. Fully charge your battery before going out for the big night.

      Liked by 1 person

      • heavenhappens Says:

        Great tips thank you! I will give it a whirl when wedding season starts. We have a lovely old manor house near us which is often used for weddings and they have fireworks.

        Like

  2. Morningstar Says:

    Excellent fireworks shots!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.