Trader Joe’s “Tortilla Chips – with an Identity Crisis” – Food Review

by

This is what happens when you don’t look closely at what you pick off the shelf.  If I had stopped and actually read the label, I probably would’ve left them on the shelf and looked for a “normal” tortilla chip.

Because I was looking more at the price, about $1.50 for a 12 oz. bag, than the label, these ended up in my basket to go along with the Corn & Chile Tomato-less Salsa I had picked up on an adjoining shelf.  The identity crisis comes from the ingredients.  To quote from the bag, “Made with a little Corn, a little Potato & a little Brown Rice.  With this combination you wouldn’t expect them to taste like flour or corn tortilla chips.  And you’d be right.  That doesn’t mean they taste bad.  They’re just different in a likable way.  While tortilla chips might be the wrong name for them, they sure did go good together with the Corn & Chile salsa.  My only complaint is, I prefer a little more salty chip than these.  That didn’t stop me from eating them.

Trader claims these chips are wheat and gluten free.  I don’t know.  I don’t have a problem with wheat or gluten, or free for that matter, so I can’t tell you from personal non-reaction experience.  He also claims these are “low sodium”.   That explains my only complaint with the chip.

At a buck-fifty what do you have to lose?  You know you’ll eat them.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Trader Joe’s “Tortilla Chips – with an Identity Crisis” – Food Review”

  1. E. Tristan Booth Says:

    I still miss these chips in 2019.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mani Sheriar Says:

    I’m literally devastated that these chips are gone. 😦

    Like

  3. tim Says:

    please keep these on the shelf. try changing the name to tortilla chips with self actualizaton

    Like

  4. tim Says:

    i hear traders has discontinued tortilla chips with an id crisis. if the sales were down maybe a change of name would help. try tortilla chips with id awareness. please keep these on the shelf!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.