Sangiovese Di Toscana – 2008 – D’Aquino Gaetano – Wine Review

by

If I knew where I bought this wine, I’d go back and buy several more bottles.  This is a wine which almost any wine drinker can like.

This is one of the “Super Tuscan” wines.  Super Tuscans are typically blends of the Sangiovese grape and other varieties.  They are recognized by Italy with the Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT) designation.   This designation means the blend does not meet the older and more strict DOC classification.  However that does not mean this isn’t a good wine.  In fact, the designation formally puts it a step above table wine.  The designation may just be a way of keeping up with a fast changing world where good wines and other products are being developed outside of time-honored tradition.   While most Super Tuscans are a blend of different grapes, this one claims to be 100% Sangiovese.

The Sangiovese grape is most often associated with Chianti.  Sangiovese Di Toscana, however, is much smoother and milder than any Chianti I’ve had.  This goes along with its different designation, IGT.  So while the wine may originate from the same grape, it’s a different wine.  If you search the web for reviews for the Sangiovese (Super Tuscan) wines, you’ll read words such as, “very easy to drink”.  I agree.  This is a very pleasant non-intimidating wine. 

While I can’t remember where I purchased this wine, I suspect it was Trader Joe’s.  On a recent trip there, I searched the shelves, but found it missing.  On my next trip there, I’ll look again.  I’ll also be looking at other wine shelves I come across in my day-to-day travels. At under $10 a bottle, and more likely in the $6 or $7 range, this is a good buy.    If you can’t find this particular wine, look for other Sangiovese wines with the IGT designation and give them a try. 

If you’re wondering what D’Aquino Gaetano is, it’s the importer.  D’Aquino displays their name on other types of wine they import.  In this case the type of wine you’re drinking is actually less prominently displayed at the top of the bottle, Sangiovese Di Toscana.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sangiovese Di Toscana – 2008 – D’Aquino Gaetano – Wine Review”

  1. Whine And Cheers For Wine Says:

    2011 now available at Trader Joe’s in Miami FL.

    Like

  2. Pat Says:

    I purchased a 2010 of the above wine at a NJ Trader Joe’s this past Spring 2012

    Like

Leave a Reply

